Skip to product information
1 of 1

My Store

Mozart Clt 5tet K581 Pts BA

Mozart Clt 5tet K581 Pts BA

Regular price £15.00
Regular price Sale price £15.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Mozarts clarinet quintet, according to his own catalogue of works, was completed in Vienna on 29 September 1789, presumably during his work on the opera Cos fan tutte. It was intended for his friend, the clarinetist Anton Stadler (17531812), and Mozart, accordingly, referred to it himself at times as Stadlers quintet.

The first performance took place in the old Vienna Burgtheater on 22 December 1789 in a subscription concert of the Viennese Tonknstler-Soziett (Musicians Society). The clarinet was played by Anton Stadler himself; the first violin part by the concert master Josef Zistler.

The autograph of the work has been missing since Mozarts death. It is possible that it was in the trunk of Mozarts music which Stadler told Constanze, Mozarts widow, was stolen from him during a trip through Germany, or which, in the opinion of Viennese acquaintances, he had pawned.

- Urtext of the New Mozart Edition

- Parts (BA4711) and study score format 22.5 x 16.5cm (TP14) available for sale

Quintet for Clarinet, two Violins, Viola and Violoncello in A major K.581 (Stadler Quintet)

View full details